You are here


The Nunavut Surface Rights Tribunal is a tribunal established under law by the Government of Canada. The Tribunal provides an independent and impartial process when developers and the Nunavut land owners or occupants fail to agree on compensation related to resource activity on Inuit owned lands. The Nunavut Surface Rights Tribunal has responsibilities to arbitrate on regulating entry and access to lands, for determining rights of, and compensation payable to, the titleholder and for determining the amount for wildlife compensation claims in the Nunavut Settlement Area.

The Tribunal is established under Articles 10 and 21.8 of the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement and in accordance with Section 99 of the Nunavut Waters and Nunavut Surface Rights Tribunal Act, assented to on April 30, 2002.

The Act provides for 3 to 11 members, including the Chair appointed by the Minister of Indigenous Affairs and Northern Development. The Chair is selected by and from the members of the Tribunal. At least two members must be resident in the Nunavut Settlement Area.